Holberg Prize News

The Holberg Symposium: Myth, Homelessness, and the "Country of Words”

International scholars, authors and critics meet to explore myths, images, modernity, legends, national identity and cultural reconstruction. Watch Live stream online from 09:00.

Masterclass with Marina Warner: Living in Words: The question of myth

Holberg Prize Laureate 2015, Marina Warner is inviting young Nordic scholars to a conversation about the value of immaterial culture and how culture and history is affected in the wake of conflict, migration and economic turmoil.

Graduate opportunity: Masterclass with Holberg Prize Laureate 2015

The Holberg Prize is now offering scholarships to Nordic PhD students for the first ever Holberg Prize Masterclass.

Welcome to the Holberg Week 8–11 juni!

We look forward to discussions and lectures by prominent international guests, an unofficial talk show with this year’s Laureates, and much more! Welcome to the Holberg Week!

The Holberg Evening

This is a celebration of the Holberg Prize laureate, Nils Klim Prize Laureate and the Holberg Prize School Project winners.

Julia Kristeva appointed the highest order in France

The French President François Hollande appointed Julia Kristeva to Commander of the French Legion of Honour ("commandeur de la Légion d’honneur) 21st December 2014.

The Holberg Committee meeting in Vienna

At the deadline for nominations there were 67 nominations for the 2015 Holberg Prize

The Holberg Prize 2014 is awarded to scholar of Islamic history

The british historian Michael Cook is awarded ‘the Nobel Prize of the arts, humanities and social sciences’. Terje Lohndal is the youngest recipient ever to be awarded the Nils Klim Prize.

The Holberg Lectures

The Holberg Lectures presents a general audience in Norway with a unique opportunity to listen to world-leading academics, all previous winners of the Holberg Prize.