Upcoming events

Thursday 14. March 2019
On March 14 we will announce the winners of the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize 2018. The ceremony can be watched live from this site.



Francesca Refsum Jensenius

The Nils Klim Prize for 2018 was awarded to the Norwegian political scientist Francesca R. Jensenius.


Cass R. Sunstein

The Holberg Prize 2018 was awarded to the American legal scholar Cass R. Sunstein.


Heggen Upper Secondary School

First prize in the Holberg Prize School Project 2018 was awarded to Elin Haugum, Emilie Jensen og Adele Grønningsæther from Heggen VGS.

News Holberg Prize

On 8 February, the Holberg Committee met in Rome, and Committee member Mary Beard delivered a lecture at the Royal Norwegian Embassy.

The Holberg Prize is delighted to be able to publish the written version of Prof. Achille Mbembe's address, given at the Holberg Debate on 1 December, 2018, in Bergen, Norway.

Nils Klim Prize News

The Nils Klim Committee met in Stockholm on 21 January for a final round of deliberations before deciding on their recommendation for the 2019 Nils Klim Prize Winner.

In 2011, Jørn Jacobsen was awarded the Nils Klim Prize for his research into Norwegian criminal law. In this interview from 2017 he talks about why he chose an academic career, the value of legal theory, and challenges in criminal law.